Froberger, Johann Jakob

Johann Jakob Froberger, Fuga, d moll (FbWV 416)

Posted on Mar 29th, 2018

Update, 27 december 2018: This fugue turns out to have been composed by Johann Jacob Froberger. The letters "F.S." are either an misattribution, they…

Continue Reading

Wilhelm Karges & Johann Jakob Froberger, Capriccio

Posted on Jan 8th, 2020

Manuscript Am.B. 340, owned by the Staatsbibliothek Berlin, contains some 45 organ pieces, presumably copied by Wilhelm Karges. Of some of the…

Continue Reading

Wilhelm Karges, F.S., Capricio in D

Posted on Jan 27th, 2020

Manuscript Am.B. 340 was presumably written by Wilhelm Karges. As was usual in those days composers were indicated with their initials rather than…

Continue Reading

Wilhelm Karges, Johann Jakob Froberger, Capricio in F

Posted on Feb 28th, 2022

Wilhelm Karges (1613 or 1614 – 1699), was a German organist and composer in the North German organ tradition. He was born in Berlin, where he spent…

Continue Reading

Visits: 788